Loading...

Top
PFQ Banner

This is PokéFarm Q, a free online Pokémon collectables game.

Already a user? New to PFQ?

Player Reviews

About Reviews

We welcome our players to provide their feedback on PokéFarm Q. Good or bad, your opinion matters! So please, speak your mind. We look forward to hearing from you.

Average rating:
★★★★ 4.64
(1,097 reviews)
★★★★★
798
★★★★☆
223
★★★☆☆
57
★★☆☆☆
15
★☆☆☆☆
4

Reviews with 80% negative user feedback are excluded from totals.

Reviews

Pages: 12345··· 122123124

Devi: "Decades of fun, excitement, and activities!"★★★★★

Posted: 19/Nov/2018 14:52:15 (20 days ago)

I'm not generally one to post reviews on anything, even when offered some sort of reward in return. However, a site like Pokefarm, one that I have spent nearly a decade playing, deserves every bit of praise it gets. The game itself is straight forward and can boil down to something as simple as, click and with a little bit of luck you might get what you want. Yet it is so much more than that. The site offers a lot to the player in terms of activities and while there is 'premium currency' you are able to obtain this with relative ease after spend some time on the site. This is even if you lack the ability to pay. In recent years I have been able to pay for some features myself but in the past I was able to trade for everything I needed. Even now I'm usually finding myself with enough currency every 30 or so days to purchase what I need to continue to play. The staff is efficient, hardworking, and helpful. The few interactions I have had with them over the years have always been positive, even when there has been an issue that needs addressed. They really do give you every bit of respect that you give them in return. It's no easy task dealing with users from so many backgrounds and on a spectrum of ages. I applaud them for their hard work and patience, all the while providing new content constantly, keeping the site running smoothly, and creating a safe and welcoming environment for everyone. The site itself is streamlined, and after a few days of learning the ropes, very easy to navigate. The artwork is top of the line and knowing that the artists are volunteering their time for create it is all the more impressive. Bugs are few and far in between and often swiftly dealt with when brought to the staff's attention. I have nothing bad to say about this site, nor do I think I ever will. I have enjoyed every moment I have spent here and would encourage anyone wondering if they should create an account to do so and begin their own adventure!

👍 5👎 0

Lokitty5000: "Fun and Addicting"★★★★★

Posted: 16/Nov/2018 11:45:35 (23 days ago)

This game will definitely make sure you're not kept bored! There is always something to do: interacting with others, hatching new, exciting Pokémon, hunting for specials, and even decorating your fields of Pokémon to look the way you want!

👍 0👎 1

Hemlock: "Same 'ol same rip-off"★☆☆☆☆

Posted: 15/Nov/2018 07:48:59 (24 days ago)

I originally got into Pokefarm because it became notable as ripping of GPX Plus. The game play was pretty identical down to the layout, which has differed since both have gone through layout changes/updates over the years. Besides that, not much has seemed to change as far as the core of cores for both the website, and the ownership. The website layout itself still makes it seem like the website is very infantile in it's development. There is an unpleasant mix between pixel images ripped from the games, and non-pixel images. Such as the icon for Hypermode and Type Race. This same issue applies to the trainer sprites, which appear to be the same as they were when pokefarm transfered over to "Pokefarm Q". They don't match the style of the pokemon/egg/item sprites in the shading/style and feel pretty low-quality. The shading is flat/hard to notice, the anatomy is pretty poor, and the coloured outlines don't look proper. They're fan trainer sprites, but one would think that they would be improved upon at some point. I'm not entirely sure why these poor trainer sprites are used, anyway. Since the website, like many fan-pokemon websites, rip sprites from the games, I'm clueless as to why trainer sprites weren't also ripped. Everything in the layout of the site just screams "too big". There is nothing sleek or functional about the design of any of it and it seems rather jumbled together. The top bar of the website seems extremely cluttered and the abundance of the default blue/red links are visually unpleasant. All text on the layout is just huge, which looks even worse on profiles. Pokefarm has also always had a heavy focus on "premium currency" aka pay-to-win. I understand that it is possible to obtain said currencies without contributing real money to the website, but that doesn't alter the complaint. Websites and/or games with premium currencies that directly affect gameplay are "pay-to-win". It's ridiculous how deeply ingrained the premium aspects of this game are. I've seen the owner of the website Kolink/Niet say multiple times that they refuse to run ads on the website. That would be admirable if it didn't come across in way like you refuse to do so, because your premium currency makes you more money due to how much players can use it to buy an advantage over non-paying players. Niet will also complain that ads are not a good option because you cannot control the ads. This is not a full truth and I feel is improperly representing the issue. You -can- to an extent control which ads are displayed on your website, and report ads that you feel are inappropriate or malicious. Beyond that, it is still fine to not want to use ads on your website, but it's still unacceptable the amount of pay-to-win the site has, versus premium bonuses that are cosmetic or do not affect gameplay. GPX Plus actually has a great solution to this. Donations do give you a small advantage over other players, but eventually, everyone on the website (whether you paid or not) gets that particular bonus. It's unfortunate that PF didn't rip the better parts of GPX. The way the owner Kolink/Nier appears to be responding to these negative reviews is very similar to the way he responded to the critical "lulzyfarm" wordpress blog that popped up when the website did. Deflection, defensive, lying to avoid admitting wrongdoing. A lot of the responses to negative reviews come across more like "Well, that's great that you think that, but you're wrong and this is why, I'm disregarding any of your points." rather than taking customer feedback in a way that would suggest that you're maybe taking some of it into consideration. https://lulzyfarm.wordpress.com/ is honestly a good read just to see how Kolink/Nier responds to criticism free of the censorship of PF. The staff in general on Pokefarm have never been very good. "Rude but helpful" is a phrase that gets thrown around a lot, and it's pretty appropriate. The site has been riddled with "drama" involving staff quitting suddenly and explosively, and staff all around acting unprofessionally and needlessly terse with players. Making any kind of suggestion or complaint that isn't coated in sugar is met with very aggressive responses. In a review complaining about the lack of a block feature, Niet linked this topic - https://pokefarm.com/forum/post/2039612 which I think is a perfect example of how staff still continue to be pretty unprofessional. The entire topic in general is just a complete shock of how Kolink/Niet treats their members. A block feature is a pretty basic feature to have on a social media plotform. The OP of the topic lists several complex, but legitimate reasons to have a block feature. Even more simple is sometimes there are just people on a social website that you don't like and don't wish to interact with. The way Niet responds to this is unbelievable, going into detail about how if the situations that OP brought up were real, they should be reported to the police. This is completely outside of what the OP is talking about. It's ridiculous to say, "Well instead of adding a block feature to our website so you can avoid harassment from certain people, I'm instead going to talk about how you should be reporting said harassment." It's perfectly acceptable to suggest these things, but why is it offered INSTEAD of a block feature being added? That entire topic is solid evidence of both Kolink/Niet's attitude, and the general attitude of staff members on the website. It comes across as either "Omg I can't believe these people just don't make the OBVIOUS (obvious as in, what I believe is correct) choices to fix this problem! I won't add a block feature because they need to learn their lesson!" or "Man I don't care and I'm too lazy to code a block feature! I should have done it ages ago but I ain't doing it now." All in all, the website started as a very unimaginative rip-off with people who refuse to accept any form of criticism and has pretty much stayed in that hole. Never have I ever seen owners and mods with such disregard and disrespect towards their members.

👍 8👎 16


Niet replied: 15/Nov/2018 11:46:23 (24 days ago)

I'm sorry you feel this way, we take such issues very seriously - I don't really know what to say but I'm sorry you are so trapped in the past, and here's why: I had a quick look at your profile. You haven't actually played the game since August 2016, and even that was just adopting one party of Pokémon - prior to this you had been gone since April 2014. Needless to say, a *lot* has changed since then and as a result you ... quite frankly have no room to comment on any of our present-day issues. It really looks like you just came back to stir up drama yourself. And if that's me being "unable to take criticism", then so be it. I will not sit here and be defamed for my teenage mistakes. Not now, almost ten years later. You make me sad. If you'd posted this feedback in 2014 then sure, I'll admit there have been some quite serious issues. These have been fixed since then! It's just sad that you seem so blinded because of this raw hatred that you appear to have towards me and my colleagues. I don't know what we did to upset you so personally that you would hold a grudge for near of a decade. I do wish you'd actually tell us. All this being said, here's a couple of your points and my responses to them. I don't expect you to read this because I'm just going to be repeating what I've said before and this doesn't qualify as "addressing the issue" to you... Trainer sprites are fine. Not great, but fine. They, like all other custom-made sprites, are on the list of things to update, we just need the manpower to get it done. "Soon." Since you're dragging GPX into this, I'd like to mention that they have downgraded to basic web hosting - and this shows in very long load times (notably in the Dex and Trinket pages) even during the dead times (fewer than 50 users online). This is all they can afford with their ad revenue. Meanwhile our Premium Currency options provide us the funds necessary to host PFQ on not one but two fully dedicated top-of-the-line servers and the resulting fast load times are in stark contrast to GPX. We still have issues with lag sometimes, but usually only when we exceed 1,000 users online, during special events such as MCW. Furthermore, the money received allows us to have food and a home, both rather important things. It pays for us to live so that we can dedicate ourselves full-time to PFQ instead of having to juggle it with a day job. See the difference? So that's why premium currency is important. However, as I have stated numerous times, there are a significant number of players who have all of the premium stuff not because they paid but because they put in the effort of playing the markets. They get rewarded for their time, not their money. This is what makes our system truly free-to-play, not pay-to-win. The "staff drama" you speak of dates back to 2010. Back when everyone got fired for being even worse than I was at the time. We have not had any "explosive" quitting since then. But - if you can - please explain what you would know, given you've been absent for the last five years? My decision not to implement a block feature has been validated. Due to the lack of a block feature, people actually reported the pedophile grooming them instead of blocking/ignoring the issue and allowing them to prey on another user. That pedophile was investigated by police and has been dealt with. But if people could just block instead of reporting, we would never have known that such things were going on. Blocking is never the answer when we are willing to take such an active approach to taking care of our community. Blocking is only appropriate on platforms where moderators either don't exist or can't be bothered to moderate. I respect our players as much as is reasonable - respect is earned, not given as default. Sorry, again, that you feel this way towards us, but this kind of drama-stirring is not welcome here and we're seriously considering outright removing this review - something we never want to do (we've only ever done it once without writer request) - because of just how toxic it is. Of course if we do, then a note will be made for transparency reasons. Once again, I'm sorry you feel the way you do.

Luxrayzzz: "Too Addicting"★★★★★

Posted: 12/Nov/2018 22:46:17 (27 days ago)

Best Pokémon game ever! It has different Pokémon, unlike other Pokémon games. It has contests and more!

👍 1👎 1

Tone: "It good!"★★★★☆

Posted: 12/Nov/2018 15:39:09 (27 days ago)

I just think its neat only issue I have is that I cant swear (mostly because I do it on instinct now and its hard for me to stop LOL...) I know its supposed to be geared towards kids as well, but doesn't seem easy for younger kids to use anyways- the community Is super nice tho!! the way that the community functions is very similar to that of other adopt communities in its own way, using crypto-currency for art, special albino pokemon, and even super rare melanistic pokemon. I love the idea of having albino and melanistic pokemon as well- I wish they'd add it in main games. ;w; It's still super interactive tho, and does require a lot of attention and effort for stuff, so if you aren't ready for a commitment, I wouldn't recommend it, aha.

👍 3👎 2

Battyfoox: "so much fun!!"★★★★★

Posted: 12/Nov/2018 13:42:29 (27 days ago)

i visit this site hourly!! mostly because scour missions, but thats what keeps me coming back! love this game so much, keep up the great work, pokefarm staff!!

👍 1👎 1

SuperSannajin: "Addicting"★★★★★

Posted: 11/Nov/2018 16:02:07 (28 days ago)

I spend way too much time on this website. I love it, because I get the joy of collecting and hoarding pokemon I love, but without having to buy a game. I'm not sure why, but I've never been able to get hooked on a pokemon game. I just don't enjoy them that much.

👍 1👎 0

nòthing town: "The perfect online browser game!"★★★★★

Posted: 11/Nov/2018 06:58:08 (28 days ago)

I absolutely love this game, and it's so addictive!

👍 0👎 2

DrakeonPlayz: "Pretty good"★★★★☆

Posted: 05/Nov/2018 12:32:33 (1 month ago)

Well...mostly what I have to say is, the game is really good overall, but I just feel like it’s...repetitive. I know the point is being active and making interactions and stuff, but it’s kinda the same thing. Not tryna be bad about it I’m just stating what I think.

👍 3👎 1

PepsiChick: "Lots of fun"★★★★★

Posted: 03/Nov/2018 03:45:18 (1 month ago)

Votes below threshold, review has been hidden. View



👍 1👎 4

Pages: 12345··· 122123124

© PokéFarm 2009-2018 (Full details)Contact | Rules | Privacy | WikiGet shortlink for this page